Age of Legends

Age of Legends is an original orchestral composition in three movements, of approximately twenty-three minutes in duration. In the tradition of the literature-inspired symphonic poem, the piece is based on the celebrated fiction series The Wheel of Time, by acclaimed American author Robert Jordan (1948—2007), completed posthumously by Brandon Sanderson. The title of the work, Age of Legends, refers to a particularly enchanting era described in the series, wherein the magical and miraculous are interwoven into everyday life. The piece’s three movements portray a purely musical depiction of the breathtaking adventures that unfold throughout the fourteen-volume fantasy saga, evoking its richly imaginative scenes and thrilling, dramatic developments. Additionally, the music seeks to embody the intense emotional and psychological states experienced in the lives of The Wheel of Time’s fascinating literary characters, as they undergo defining moments of tremendous bravery, extreme peril, and exultant triumph.

Age of Legends was premiered by the Eugene Contemporary Chamber Ensemble on Nov 19, 2011 in Beall Hall, under the direction of the composer.

1st Movement

2nd Movement

3rd movement

Comments are closed.